Skip to Main Content
Status Future consideration
Categories Ideas
Created by Guest
Created on May 5, 2015

Ability to remove votes from ideas

Contributers and greater should be able to remove votes from ideas. This would prevent an issue where Zendesk tickets can't be linked to ideas due to the user already having voted for the idea.

  • Attach files
  • Guest
    Sep 13, 2022

    We'd like to do a strawman vote of all our ideas each quarter with our internal teams. We'd like to delete the old votes from quarter to quarter so that we can re-evaluate which ideas are more important to focus on.

  • Admin
    Austin Merritt
    May 18, 2021

    Hi there, thank you for your feedback. I did want to share that the use case you mentioned should be handled currently. Once you ship an idea, the votes are released back to the portal users and no longer count against the max votes.

  • Ben Rawls
    May 17, 2021

    Currently, when I promote an idea out to a release and then ship that release, I have to tell customers to remove their votes from shipped ideas so they can reclaim their votes from their defined maximum. It would be way better if I could define when votes were "released" from an idea back to the customer so they could then vote on more items.

  • Guest
    Oct 21, 2020

    Having recently launched the ideas portal to our customers I see this idea as a very helpful feature for administration of the portal. Prior to the portal being live for all of our customers we had tested it internally and with our customer advisory board for several months which resulted in many "test" votes or votes for items that have since been shipped - but the votes are not automatically returning to the voter despite configuration and our customers have noted that they must go manually remove their votes from items that are "shipped" in order to get them back.

    It would also be nice if administrators could configure the system to return votes on more than one idea status - i.e. when an idea is marked "already exists" in addition to when an idea is marked as "shipped".

  • Guest
    Jun 27, 2020

    My scenario was I sent out a vote for internal voting with 10 big ideas to 3 people at my company. Then later I wanted 15 people from my company to vote on 20 big ideas (within that same workspace). Since the people and the ideas overlapped, I wanted them recast their votes (to make sure they didn’t incidentally favor the original 10 ideas).

    I ended up having to recreate each of the original 10 ideas to dissolve all the votes.

  • Shri Iyer
    Apr 20, 2020

    As admins, this would be super useful. Sometimes there is a need to clean up the votes or in situations where the Aha setting was incorrect and there was voter fraud and a need to reset.

  • Nicole Hardin
    Jan 28, 2020

    We have a pretty tough use case.  We had someone log A LOT of votes using fake email addresses which have skewed the votes significantly.  While we have removed these fake users there is no way to remove the damage done which feels like a huge limitation.  I am not sure how we are going to move forward using ideas given this constraint.  There should be a way for an administrator to eliminate votes or when blocking a user to invalidate their votes it feels like control that is necessary for a public portal.

  • Guest
    Jan 16, 2020

    I already voted and commented on this in April and still need this feature. It is challenging to have deleted users old votes stay on an idea when they are no longer with the company.

  • JP Parrish
    Jan 9, 2020

    This is the exact situation I find myself in. Deleted a user (who had already voted for an idea) so I could link the Zendesk ticket (which re-created the user and added a vote) and now I have an additional, inflated vote. I would like to see the ability to delete votes (I administer the system after all) but I also think the Zendesk integration could be smarter and allow the link to happen even if the person was already associated with the Idea.

  • Guest
    Apr 8, 2019

    As priorities shift and change it would be nice to be able to clear out all votes when needed and have teams re vote on priorities. Sometimes a total reset is needed due to items that have been in the backlog a long time and already would have a number of votes. 

  • Melissa Johnson
    Oct 9, 2018

    I've returned to this idea in hopes of finding an update. Unfortunately, don't see anything but have thoughts to contribute on how this might work.

    Instead of completely re-setting vote count to zero, should it be set to 1 with the 1 vote attributed to the requestor and if an admin created it, set to 0? After votes are reset, when the round of voting occurs, the portal user that has created ideas will see his votes already taken and will have the option to remove his vote without changing the created by field.

  • Guest
    Oct 4, 2018

    I would like to be able to configure when votes are released from an Idea.

    Example: One portal the votes are released to be reallocated once the feature is committed to and planned for a release. Another portal the votes are released once the feature is implemented and shipped.

  • Sandro Suter
    Aug 10, 2018

    I want delete Vote from Deleted User or Spam Portal Users

  • John Frame
    Jan 25, 2018

    Using the idea portal, we have users conducting votes for this cycle. In a month or two we are going to reset voting and ask the user community to vote again on priorities. We want the vote counts to revert back to zero because priorities change, business changes, and so on. So each round, each user has X votes, we tally all the votes, then next cycle we start again with all ideas at zero and each user with X votes.

    So the ability to reset and notify the users that a fresh round of voting is open would be very nice to have.

  • Norah Brennan
    Dec 18, 2017

    Just want to add my $.02 - we have clients vote on a subset of enhancements each quarter to get into the next release, it would be great to be able to reset on the enhancements up for consideration prior to the voting cycle so it doesn't give an advantage (enhancement has been in backlog a long time, already has a number of votes, etc).  

  • Guest
    Dec 7, 2017

    This suggestion has my vote... just please don't remove it :).

    I have a similar use case as Jonathan.  We had a round of voting on suggestions during a UAT phase prior to product launch.  Now that we've launched and there are a lot more suggestions in the portal, I'd like to be able to start fresh and ask for votes again.

  • Guest
    Oct 3, 2017

    Also - a regular refresh of votes (1 per month?) would be great. We are wanting to start "fresh" on the existing ideas with users having a limited number of votes in our internal idea portal. 

  • Guest
    Apr 3, 2017

    Removing votes from individual contributors would be handy. But also removing all votes on an idea or disabling votes completely on individual ideas. This would be helpful in situations where I would like to run testing/survey amongst some users or staff. i.e. They get 10 votes each and can choose from 20 ideas, can use multiple votes an any one idea...

1 MERGED

Ability to delete votes

Merged
No description provided
Sara Olson 8 months ago in  0 Future consideration