Way to hide merged ideas

If I merge two ideas, the merged idea needs to not show up in my ideas lists. At least give me a filter option to hide those.

  • Jake Spirek
  • Jul 31 2015
  • Shipped
Release time frame
  • Attach files
  • Thomas Dhollander commented
    February 11, 2016 20:33

    A filter option could have been useful. However, just hiding the merged ideas altogether does not seem like a great choice:

    • If all merged ideas are hidden, how can one report on all ideas submitted by a given customer / user? It is very important to be able to give customers insight in the status of all their requests.
    • In the ideas portal, hiding all merged ideas also would have the adverse effect that users can no longer find back their own ideas after they have been merged.
  • Martin Kuplēns-Ewart commented
    July 31, 2017 17:34

    Was this function stripped from the product? This appears to no longer be possible without manually (and individually) marking merged ideas as not shown in-portal.

  • Admin
    Austin Merritt commented
    August 1, 2017 22:45

    Hi Martin, merged ideas will maintain their visibility by default. However, they will be hidden from searches within the portal so there is no need to manually change their visibility. Keeping them visible allows the user who submitted the idea to view it through the My ideas page. We implemented this based on Thomas's feedback above. Thanks!