Users should be prevented from moving Features to releases for products in which they are only a Viewer or Reviewer

Current behavior: If a user is a product owner or contributor for a product, they are able to move a feature for that product to another release for a product in which they are only a Reviewer or Viewer.

Desired behavior: Users should be prevented from moving features to other products in which they don't have product owner or contributor rights for.  

  • Matt Case
  • Jul 12 2016
  • Unlikely to implement
Release time frame
  • Attach files
  • Admin
    Chris Waters commented
    July 12, 2016 16:17

    The current behavior is intentional. It is designed to allow work to be handed between teams when no user on either team has contributor rights to the other team's product.

    The permission system allows this behavior because changing the release for a feature is a modification of the feature - and so can be made by a user who has permission to modify the feature. i.e. the current behavior is not a violation of the permission system.

  • Saud Almoayyed commented
    July 12, 2016 16:25

    I understand that. What about ideas? if the design is allow work to be handed between teams shouldn't a contributor be able to send an idea to another product in which they are only a Reviewer or Viewer in? I think that would help as well. What do you think?

  • Admin
    Matt Case commented
    July 12, 2016 16:44

    Good point, Saud. I added an idea to allow similar behavior for ideas https://big.ideas.aha.io/ideas/APP-I-2855

  • Saud Almoayyed commented
    July 13, 2016 00:54

    Thanks Matt for creating the idea. We are casting our votes to it.

     

    Chris/Matt - Would having an optional field to have the feature movement limitation possible to implement? or at least have a "custom" user access where we can specific exactly what someone can and can't do? do any of these ideas make sense to you guys?