Saving views -- suggestions to streamline

I have a UI tweak request to clarify some of the wording on the list view under features.

When I go to create a new view, there's no intuitive way to 'start from scratch.' As I understand it, you edit the current view, save it as a copy, and then need to re-open the menu, click edit, and then name it something. I would expect similar functionality to other parts of the UI such as creating a new release, where I click new, name it, and start building the view.

I also find the word 'update' ambiguous as a term for saving changes. I would expect update to refresh the page and reload the content to reflect any changes that might have happened since it was last loaded.

And lastly, I see that there is a 'back to default' button, but I can't seem to find the way to set the default. Perhaps I've overlooking that though...

  • Suzanne Vaughan
  • Nov 21 2014
  • Shipped
Release time frame
  • Attach files
  • Jonathon Leeke commented
    September 25, 2015 18:38

    Please add a "SAVE AS" option to pivots and lists.  I normally will open a saved view, or start from wherever I left last time.  Then I make some changes to the view and want to save it as a new view.  To do this, I have to Copy it, then Edit it, which is not intuitive and doesn't give me confidence that I'm doing it correctly.  Also, I sometimes forget to follow those steps in the right order, and I end up losing the view I created.  A "Save as" option fits with how other products (ie. MS Office) allow you to save your work as something new.

  • Matt Ratcliffe commented
    September 29, 2015 22:55

    Agree - I have overwritten many many reports because of this. Would be great to have this :)