Ability to remove default release template

My PMs often forget to switch to their own template or insert no template and then have to delete each phase. It'd be easier if there was no template or the template they choose would be default.

  • Jaclyn Fine
  • Dec 19 2016
  • Unlikely to implement
Release time frame
  • Dec 17, 2018

    Admin Response

    Thank you for the idea. When release templates have been created, the first template will become the default template selected in the dropdown when a new release is added. If you want all new releases not to include any phases, one workaround would be to create a template that includes no phases. This would then be the default selection when new releases are added. 

    Given the availability of the workaround above and other priorities, we are unlikely to implement this idea at this time. We hope you can understand. 

  • Attach files
  • Jaclyn Fine commented
    December 21, 2016 15:47

    I meant so that the default is already "no template" so that PMs have one less click (and potentially many less) to worry about.

  • Christian Rodriguez commented
    July 03, 2017 16:51

    I agree with Jaclyn -- every time we accidentally forget to click "no template" it causes about 2 minutes of deleting phases per release to undo the mistake.

  • Ben Cochrane commented
    April 19, 2018 00:42

    this is the most frustrating part of Aha and I love this product - please remove the default phases or at least make these current defaults opt in

  • Andrew Brooks commented
    July 27, 2018 09:03

    I think the Admins comment above is a little short sited, and the assumption here is that Aha Administrators don't need global admin controls. I currently have over 100 product using Aha, and that default template is just not useful for how our products are structured. Therefore I want to switch this off globally, and then give our product managers the flexibility to choose another. Releases planning is an incredibly useful tool, especially in large organisations, so having a workaround that relies on users not making a mistake seems like a UX flaw.

  • Natasha Venter commented
    January 23, 2019 11:52

    Or at very least give the ability to change the release phase template once the release has been created ... this way the if the release was created using a old release phase template a new on can be applied or removed.

  • Maciej Kaminski commented
    July 18, 2019 09:26

    When we create release phase template, we should be able to choose which one is the default one. That way users will have less templates to choose from, reducing risk of using the wrong (current default) template