In most workflows, the status "approved" is available. But it can be skipped.
It should be possible to set in a workflow that e.g. a feature most have had the status approved, before it can get any status following it in the workflow. E.g. the workflow is:
As long as the status has not been "Approved" it can only be set to Under consideration (so backwards), but not to In Design (aka forwards).
|Release time frame|