Warn about potential data loss before importing from dev tool

When importing records from Rally to Aha!, I had several fields mapped as one-way from Aha! to Rally. The import process unexpectedly deleted data from these fields in Rally. I understand that the integration is making the data consistent between the two systems, but it would have been very helpful to know beforehand that the data would be deleted from those fields. Then I could have changed the integration ahead of time to avoid this. Perhaps a warning message would be helpful if the system detects that I have mapped some fields as one-way from Aha!
  • Guest
  • Nov 5 2018
  • Shipped
Release time frame
  • Attach files
  • Richard Cook commented
    November 06, 2018 16:40

    As the originator of this idea, I would like to further request that Rally info never changes due to an import.  The imported fields may not make it into Aha due to mapping issues but the original info entered in Rally should be protected.  Rally and Aha will never be exactly the same and since Rally is the "source of truth" it should be protected.  Protected = no deletion of information.

  • Admin
    Austin Merritt commented
    November 07, 2018 14:17

    Thank you for the additional detail. We are planning to improve the import preview to make it more clear when data will be overwritten. Regarding your additional request above, this can be accomplished currently either by updating the sync direction for the field to be 1-way from Rally to Aha! or 2-way. When the sync is setup 1-way from Aha! to Rally, Aha! must keep that field in sync with what is set in Aha!